Oven Bacon

I have two posts for you today.  I’ve been quite busy cooking away the last few days but I’ll limit it to two posts per day 😉

This one is about a post I saw, and a few friends and family members have reposted, about cooking bacon in the oven.  In my house, my husband is the breakfast cooker.  I cook almost every other meal in the house and I hate cooking bacon, and he’s good at it so I usually let him do it.  This past Sunday he was tired and so I decided to let him sleep in a bit and I cooked breakfast. I remembered seeing this post so I thought I would give it a try.

Image

Do not preheat your oven.  For this to work best, you need to start with a cold oven.  Cover a cookie sheet, or two, with foil.  Lay the bacon out flat on the cookie sheet.

Image

Put the bacon in the oven and then set the oven to 375.  I did it this way because the original poster said that it helps reduce splatter.  I’m not sure about that.  It still splattered a bit.  It also said you can cook it for 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

Cook the bacon for 20 minutes.  I planned to let mine go over a bit because I like crispy bacon, but I got distracted with the kids and eggs and a couple of pieces burned a bit.  (whoops!)

Be very careful when pulling it out! There was a lot of grease in the pan.  Spilling it on yourself would not be good!

Image

It didn’t turn out half bad.  Next time I won’t leave it in so long and I think it should be about perfect.  The clean up was really easy because all I had to do was wait for the grease to harden and roll up the foil and toss it.  Easy peasy!

Image

As always, if you try this one out, let me know how it works out for you! Tomorrow….homemade chinese food!

Leave a Reply

